Output // Omar – Current Investigations, Gaps and Challenges

Short Overview

Infrastructural Transgression is a progressive project which looks to build infrastructure within the Shanghai area of Šnipiškės initially hidden to the knowledge of the local municipality within the characteristics of the Shanghai neighbourhood.

A turn of events acting has a catalyst for transgression will fuel the transition of infrastructure and community identity from hidden and submissive to self-exposed and celebrated public infrastructure via a series of small but elaborate interventions evolving into a more extensive socio-urban infrastructure.

Within the project, I also aim to explore the agency of characters, roles of agents, infrastructure and autonomy of agents and place and metaphorical representation of separation.

Current investigations

I am currently investigating the wider programme and revisiting the aims of my project, with a view on the importance of appropriate communication.

My attentions are mainly focused on the second stage of my project at present, with myself continuing to build my scenario creating a storyline to encourage the evolution of programme, agency and infrastructure/autonomy.

The second stage aims to show the evolution of transgression within the Shanghai and how this begins to shape the area affecting the community as a whole rather than a selected few as in stage one of the project. In doing this, I am beginning to identify the links between Stage 1, 2, actors, agent and my scenario.

Gaps & Challenges 

At the moment my key challenges lie with how to show the relationships and linkages across my project and rank/categories theses into an edible form.

An example is the use of interstitial spaces in stage one of my project and the development of wider urban space in stage two of the project. This will rely on the skills of those using the space and the skills developed/shown in the interstitial space in which I have to be careful not to lose in my communication.

It is essential I capture the action, process, relationship, network, movement, the emotion of actors and the interaction with space but also the type of infrastructure and economy this brings to the Shanghai area to show the product of transgression within the area.

I also have to give thought to how stage 2 of the project will truly interact with the legalised city in comparison to its own illegalised and rebellious existence.

Leave a comment